19th Ave New York, NY 95822, USA

How to Unsend Messages on WhatsApp

Whatsapp is making things better and sweeter for their users especially on how to unsend messages on WhatsApp.

I’m one of those that so much love this feature cause at times i might send someone a message, but later regret sending it. And there’s no way i can delete it as long as it have been sent.

But with this whatsapp unsend messages, you can unsend messages on your WhatsApp chat.

Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat,” a WhatsApp note explains. “This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat, or if the message you sent contains a mistake, you can unsend messages on WhatsApp or delete the message.”

According to WhatsApp, hitting delete will replace the message you sent with the following text: “This message was deleted.” That means if you do drunk-text someone, they’ll still be aware of your late-night social faux pas, but they just won’t see the contents of your message.

How to Unsend Messages on WhatsApp

To Unsend Messages on WhatsApp or delete a message, follow these steps:

  • Open WhatsApp
  • Navigate to the chat with the offending message
  • Tap and hold the message
  • Choose Delete from the menu
  • Optionally, select multiple messages to delete several items at once
  • Tap Delete > Delete for Everyone

Note 

Firstly, you can only delete messages for up to seven minutes after sending. Once that time window has passed, you’ll be stuck – so make up your mind quickly.

Secondly, you’ll need to ensure that both you and your recipient(s) are using the latest version of WhatsApp, whether it be on Android, iPhone or Windows Phone. If they’re not up to date, the feature won’t be supported. You’ll be notified if deleting for everyone wasn’t successful.

And of course, it’s always entirely possible that the person(s) who you messaged will still see your message before you get a chance to delete it. A pop-up notification could scupper your plans entirely.

It’s expected that this new feature will become available to all users globally in the near future.

Related Posts

Leave a comment